Ivan (Her Russian Protector #1) – Roxie Rivera

Soooo as announced below I read this book because of the cover. In all my excitement over the cover I somehow managed to miss that Ms Rivera’s books are associated with the word “erotica”. Since this is not exactly my cup of tea, I would usually not review it because I feel it is not up to me to review and rate a genre I do not normally read (hence I won’t give it a rating). Don’t get me wrong I don’t mind sexy time in the books I read but I prefer the ratio interaction : “interaction” 80:20 and not 50:50. In addition to that the “interaction” was described really detailed (I learned a few new expressions here). Geez I am aware that I sound totally square now!

However, I must say I kind of liked certain elements of the book. Here is the review that contains no spoiler:

What the official synopsis reads: Desperate to find her sister, Erin goes to the only man in Houston who can help her–Ivan Markovic. The intimidating, tattooed Russian operates one of the most elite mixed-martial arts training centers in the world but it’s his shadowy past and reputed connections with Houston’s underworld that interest her most.

To find her sister, she’ll need the help of her big, scary Russian protector—but asking for help from a man like Ivan carries a steep price, one that might just include her heart

What I read: Omg the guy on the book cover is hot.

Surprisingly although there were erotica elements I liked that the POVs were her in first person and him in third person. Actually I found it brilliant! I never read that before but I think it is really clever. You get both point of views but the male’s one is with some distance. This makes it rather intriguing.

The story itself was rather rushed (well it ony had 111 pages) but the plot had enough suspense and the two main characters were likeable. All in all it was not a bad book and I think if it was a full book (in YA/NA style) I would have really liked it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

