To tweet or not to tweet?

As you might be aware, I am relatively new to the active book blogging world. Yesterday I had a chit-chat with a beauty blogger. She gave me the impression the kind of novels I review (there is this wonderful German word “Schundromane” she used) should not be associated with the high end make-up she reviews, therefore I will refrain from mentioning her here. Otherwise I would have linked her here in all possible ways of course. Anyway, when I told her about the amount of time I spent of setting up an e-mail account and a goodreads account and a website (thank you youtube for all the wordpress for dummies videos btw) she stared at me gobsmacked and asked on the whereabouts of my Twitter account. Apparently a Twitter account is the thing to have when blogging.

After some online research (during lunch break … ahem … not work) I ended up totally amazed on all the musts and don’ts when blogging. There are even blog coaches. What many point out is that a Twitter account is a must in order to stay in contact with other bloggers and obviously get updates on the authors and their new books. Thus I now have a twitter account (the option to tweet in pink convinced me in the end). I am, however, still not 100% convinced as to the necessity of actively tweeting. I love to review books and of course I want to exchange opinions with other readers but do you really need a Twitter account if you just want to blog on books (and do not seek a job in PR or publishing)?

2 thoughts on “To tweet or not to tweet?

  1. I just started tweeting and created a Facebook author page, but I have been blogging for 3 years. Since this is my hobby, I know I probably am not doing all I can to promote my blog but I have met some pretty cool people since I started.

    Like

  2. Yes blogging is becoming really fast one of my favourite hobbies too… It is amazing how many people that share the same interest you get in touch with when blogging; I enjoy it so much! 3 years that is impressive! What do you personally prefer fb or twitter?

    Like

Leave a Reply

