Fallen Crest High (Fallen Crest Series #1) – Tijan

41xWKGbWjZL

Rating: 5 Stars
Type: YA/NA
Steamy: Puuuurrrfect

Tijan you wonderful mysterious author with just one name I throw myself at your feet and thank you for a wonderful book and since it is a series thank you for wonderful upcoming days and weekends of binge-reading.

Not much is known about “Tijan” but if the omission of surnames (or first names) means quality writing then I say off with the names! And here it comes – the review:

Contains minor spoilers:

What the synopsis reads: Mason and Logan Kade are two brothers who did their own thing. They were rich and expected to attend her school, Fallen Crest Academy. They chose public school and now Samantha has to live with them. The problem is that she doesn’t care at all: about them, about her friends, about her cheating boyfriend, or even about her parent’s divorce. But maybe that’s a good thing. Maybe change is a good thing.

What I read: Geez my expectations in real men are so high now (again) it will ruin my next couple of dates (again).

So I do not want to give away too much since I beg you to read this one. This is an NA story set in a YA setting. We meet 17year old Sam(antha) whose mum just left her husband and forces Sam to move in with the new man in her life. He happens to have two sons (gosh I wish my mum would move in with someone that has sons like that) Mason and Logan. Logan is the fun one, Mason the dark, brooding one. Or, as Logan puts it at some point in the book: “I am the talker, Mason is the fighter”. The characters are so well developed it felt like they were going to jump out of the book and become real persons any second.

Sam is a bit of an emo sometimes but hey she is a 17year old whose parents are getting divorced – I think a bit of a “I am a depressed teenager and the world doesn’t understand me” attitude is understandable. However, she is likeable and her reactions to various situations are genuine. To make things short I like her and would hang out with her (when she is not in a dark mood that is). The sidekicks Becky and Adam are adorable. Especially Becky! I hope we get to read more about her in the following books (whoop whoop a series yaaay).

Mason, well what can one say about Mason. When I first read about him, a young Derek Craven* came into my mind. Mason is fierce, he can be ruthless, he does not talk a lot and he is just sexy as hell (and I just love love love scenes where a man carries a woman around arrrrghhh yes thank you one-named-author for those scenes).

The story overall is really well done, it never gets boring and I had at no point  the urge to skip the pages. Also what I liked about the book was that not everything was communicated expressis verbis but also with hints and gestures. As for the love scenes and the steamy parts they are *applause* just toe-curling perfect. What is also perfect is Tijan’s writing and her ability to create scenes. Especially towards the end is a scene where all the divorced parents come together. This was the most hilarious get-together I have read in ages (Sophie Kinsella** level).

To sum up: I. Fully. Recommend. This. Book. By. This. Author. With. Just. One. Name.

* Lisa Kleypas – Dreaming about you. Even if you are not into historical romance this one is really worth a shot.

** Another great author!

 

Leave a Reply

