Jake Undone (Gemini #2) – Penelope Ward

jake undone

Rating: 4 Stars
Type: NA
Steamy: Yes (and well done!)

Sometimes reading a book is like going on a date. I used to be always the optimist always excited and never giving up my high hopes. Lately however my book dates where like: yay excited – ok that’s not my cup of tea but let’s see how it is going to progress – please just get better – I’m begging you get better – nope getting worse – sh** I can’t believe I’m still here – someone just knock me out please – finally over – what a waste of time – I will never call you again.

I had lots of this bad book dates lately therefore I was really anxious about getting back into the book dating market. I was reading this book very carefully (like being on an actual date and waiting if the guy turns out to be a sociopath). Fortunately this was a wonderful date it gave me back my faith in going out with a book and spending some quality time. 

What the synopsis reads: Nina Kennedy was alive…but not living…until she met him.

Planes, trains, heights…you name it, Nina was afraid of it and led a sheltered life ruled by irrational fears and phobias. When she moves to Brooklyn for nursing school, that life is turned upside down, as she develops an intense but unwanted attraction to her gorgeous roommate, who’s pierced, tattooed and just happens to be the smartest person she’s ever met.

Behind Jake Green’s rough exterior and devilish smile, lies a heart of gold. He makes it his mission to change Nina’s outlook on life. When he agrees to tutor her, they forge a bet and the stakes are high as Jake forces Nina to face her demons. He just wasn’t expecting to fall hard for her in the process.

What Nina doesn’t realize, is that Jake has been living his own private hell. Once he drops a bombshell, will their love survive it?

What I read: Michael Scofield meets NA

Contains minor spoilers:

Double POVs can be really well done but I personally prefer the story from one point of view. In this case however it is a really well executed double POV. The first half we get to know Nina Kennedy an anxious 20 something who just moved to New York. Turns out her roommate is not only her best (male) friend Ryan but also a hot badass engineer with tattoos and piercings. As weird as the combination engineer tattoos and piercings sounds I had this picture of Michael Scofield from Prison Break* in my head all the time which made the story even more enjoying.

Jake Green is a decent guy with a huge secret up his sleeves. We are often confronted with people with obstacles in romantic novels, most of the time they are ridiculous, far fetched or just deadpan easy overcome. However, with this one (I will not tell what it is) it was very well done and I believe the author was very sensible about the whole matter and also showing that in these situations there are no simple solutions.

Anyway back to the whole boy meets girl main story: the two of them are although opposite perfect together. She is a sweet honest girl that for once has a modest way about looking good (I’m annoyed by all these H going nuts when the guy says they are beautiful and the H is like omg he thinks I’m beautiful when all I see in the mirror is just an average Victoria’s Secret model) and is infatuated with her roommate the second she lies her eyes on him. As the first half of the book is written solely from her point of view you really feel with here because she is someone that one can easily connect with. There is one scene where I really wanted to be best friends with her (this is as much spoiler as you will get promised): after he told her that her backside looks nice she goes to the restrooms turns around and jumps up and down as the mirror is hung to high in order to check her butt out. I love that scene!

He on the other hand although having had a rough time is a hot hot hot decent guy that is also smitten with her but holding back (big obstacle thingy I wrote about earlier). Think Michael Scofield there is no better way that I could describe it.

It is fun (I laughed out loud a couple of times) and sweet (I also sighed a lot poor guy next to me having to endure all my emotions) seeing these guys dancing around until finally getting closer. Read it you won’t regret it!

On a side note: As the intimate scenes vary so much in all the books I keep on reading lately (it is really like dating different guys). The ones here are decently written with a very good mixture of description and mere hints (I’m not into hard-core erotica therefore I enjoy it a lot if it is decently written).

*if you haven’t watched that series do it it’s really good

Leave a Reply

